Otto Roth Award 2009

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

The winner of the Professor Otto Roth Award 2009 is Dr. rer. hum. biol. Dipl. oec. troph. Christian Benedict. He is awarded for his dissertation "Significance of Insulin for Central Nervous Functions in Humans", which he wrote at the Institute of Neuroendocrinology under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Jan Born.

The Otto Roth Award is the Medical Faculty`s annual award for an outstanding doctoral thesis donated by the Society of the University`s Alumni with an amount of 2.500 Euros.
It is named after Professor Otto Roth (1863-1944), the University`s first specialized surgeon. He became head of the Clinic of Surgery in Luebeck`s General Hospital (1897-1933) and collaborated with Heinrich Dräger (1847-1917) for the development of the world world-famous Dräger-Roth anaesthetic apparatus, allowing the thrive of modern anaesthesiology.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2009
LocationLeibniz Forschungszentrum Borstel, Borstel, GermanyShow on map

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)