Bernd Fischer Award 2010

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

The Bernd Fischer Award 2010 for an outstanding PhD thesis in the Departments of Computer Science or Natural Sciences is awarded to Dr. rer. nat. Nils Papenberg for his dissertation on "A general registration approach with application in navigated liver surgery” at the Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing under supervision of Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer, to who this award was dedicated in 2016.
The University Award for STEM dissertations has been presented since 2007 and was renamed in 2016 to commemorate the mathematician Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer (1957-2013). As the Head of the Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing and the Fraunhofer Project Group on Image Registration (MEVIS) Professor Fischer played a major role in establishing the field of computer science at the University of Luebeck and, as a scientist as well as a lecturer, he was extremely committed and popular for his achievements, his excellent teaching and his work on behalf of the university.
The award is endowed with 2,500 euros and is awarded annually by the Association of Alumni and Friends of the University of Luebeck.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2010
LocationLeibniz Forschungszentrum Borstel, Borstel, GermanyShow on map