Work-related medical rehabilitation in patients with mental disorders

Project: Projects with Federal FundingDRV Projects

Project Details

Description

Background: Rehabilitation care in accordance with the German Social Code VI aims to support return to work and to prevent the need to receive a disability pension. In order to achieve this goal for people at a high risk of not being able to return to work, work-related medical rehabilitation (WMR) was developed. To date, the evidence on the effectiveness of WMR for people with mental disorders is based on two randomized controlled trials that tested a very specific approach (external work capacity evaluation with accompanying therapeutic groups). In our randomized controlled and multicenter trial, we examined whether patients benefit more from WMR implemented in real-life care than from conventional medical rehabilitation (MR).

Methods: We recruited participants in five rehabilitation centers in Germany. We included patients aged 18 to 60 years with mental disorders for whom the need for WMR was determined by at least 27 points on the SIMBO-C in the participating rehabilitation centers. The participants were randomly assigned to WMR or MR in a one-to-one ratio. Outcomes were assessed using questionnaires at the beginning and end of rehabilitation and three and twelve months after completion of rehabilitation.

Key findings

1,637 people were included in the analyses (mean age: 49.6 years; SD = 9.4; 59.3% female). Work ability of most of the participants was very clearly restricted: 20.5% were on sick leave for 14-26 weeks in the year prior to rehabilitation, 16.7% for 27-39 weeks and 45.7% for at least 40 weeks. At the end of rehabilitation, WMR participants reported more work-related content during rehabilitation, a higher work-related consistency of their rehabilitation and a higher achievement of work-related goals. At the end of rehabilitation, they reported significantly better physical role functioning and social functioning compared to MR participants. Individuals who participated in WMR and were unable to work for more than 26 weeks in the year prior to rehabilitation had almost consistently more favorable outcomes at the end of rehabilitation than comparable individuals in the control group. In the rehabilitation centers where participants reported a significantly better achievement of work-related rehabilitation goals in WMR, an advantage of WMR was also seen for many other outcomes. In the other two rehabilitation centers, these advantages in favor of WMR were not apparent. Three and twelve months after rehabilitation, differences between WMR and MR were more heterogeneous. Advantages in favor of WMR were particularly evident in two of the facilities in which WMR participants reported better achievement of work-related rehabilitation goals.
Short titleWMR-P
AcronymMBOR-P
Statusfinished
Effective start/end date01.10.1931.03.24

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being

Research Areas and Centers

  • Research Area: Center for Population Medicine and Public Health (ZBV)

DFG Research Classification Scheme

  • 205-02 Public Health, Health Services Research and Social Medicine

Medizinisch-beruflich orientierte Rehabilitation bei psychischen Erkrankungen

Projekt: Projekte aus BundesmittelnDRV-Projekte

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Hintergrund: Die rehabilitative Versorgung nach Sozialgesetzbuch VI zielt auf berufliche Wiedereingliederung und die Vermeidung erwerbsminderungsbedingter Rentenzugänge. Um dieses Ziel auch bei Personen zu erreichen, die ein hohes Risiko haben, dass die Rückkehr in Arbeit nicht gelingt, wurde die medizinisch-beruflich orientierte Rehabilitation (MBOR) entwickelt. Bisher stützt sich die Evidenz zur Wirksamkeit der MBOR bei psychischen Erkrankungen auf zwei randomisierte kontrollierte Studien, die einen sehr spezifischen Ansatz geprüft haben (externe Belastungserprobung mit begleitenden therapeutischen Gruppen). In unserer randomisierten kontrollierten und multizentrischen Studie überprüften wir, ob Rehabilitand*innen stärker von einer in die reale Versorgung implementierten MBOR als von einer herkömmlichen medizinischen Rehabilitation (MR) profitieren.

Methoden: Die Rekrutierung erfolgte in fünf Rehabilitationseinrichtungen in Deutschland. Eingeschlossen wurden 18- bis 60-jährige Rehabilitand*innen mit psychischen Erkrankungen, für die in den teilnehmenden Einrichtungen der Bedarf an einer MBOR durch mindestens 27 Punkte auf dem SIMBO-C festgestellt wurde. Die Teilnehmer*innen wurden im Eins-zu-eins-Verhältnis zufällig der MBOR oder MR zugewiesen. Die Zielkriterien wurden mittels Fragebogen am Beginn und am Ende der Rehabilitation sowie jeweils drei und zwölf Monate nach Abschluss der Rehabilitation erfasst.

Ergebnisbericht

1.637 Personen wurden in die Analysen eingeschlossen (mittleres Alter: 49,6 Jahre; SD = 9,4; 59,3 % weiblich). Die berufliche Teilhabe der meisten teilnehmenden Personen war sehr deutlich eingeschränkt: 20,5 % waren im Jahr vor der Rehabilitation 14-26 Wochen arbeitsunfähig, 16,7 % 27-39 Wochen und 45,7 % mindestens 40 Wochen. Die teilnehmenden Personen der MBOR berichteten am Rehabilitationsende mehr berufsorientierte Inhalte während der Rehabilitation, eine stärkere berufsorientierte Konsistenz ihrer Rehabilitation und eine höhere Erreichung berufsbezogener Ziele. Sie gaben am Rehabilitationsende eine signifikant bessere körperliche Rollenfunktion und soziale Funktionsfähigkeit im Vergleich zu Teilnehmer*innen der MR an. Personen, die eine MBOR erhielten und vor der Rehabilitation mehr als 26 Wochen arbeitsunfähig waren, hatten am Rehabilitationsende nahezu durchgehend günstigere Ergebnisse als vergleichbare Personen der Kontrollgruppe. In den Einrichtungen, in denen die Teilnehmer*innen von einer signifikant besseren Erreichung berufsbezogener Rehabilitationsziele in der MBOR berichteten, war auch für viele andere Zielkriterien ein Vorteil der MBOR zu sehen. In den anderen beiden Einrichtungen waren diese Vorteile zugunsten der MBOR nicht sichtbar. Drei und zwölf Monate nach der Rehabilitation waren die Unterschiede zwischen MBOR und MR heterogener. Vorteile zugunsten der MBOR zeigten sich vor allem in zwei der Einrichtungen, in denen Teilnehmer*innen der MBOR eine bessere Erreichung berufsbezogener Rehabilitationsziele angaben.
KurztitelMBOR-P
AkronymMBOR-P
Statusabgeschlossen
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.10.1931.03.24

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Profilbereich: Zentrum für Bevölkerungsmedizin und Versorgungsforschung (ZBV)

DFG-Fachsystematik

  • 205-02 Public Health, medizinische Versorgungsforschung, Sozialmedizin