Removing barriers to access medical rehabilitation for children and adolescents

Project: Projects with Federal FundingDRV Projects

Project Details

Description

Research question
The study accompanies the development and implementation of a multimodal intervention to improve the number of applications for medical rehabilitation for children and adolescents. The objective is to reduce the complexity of the application process through a simplified application form and to increase the number of requests in the model regions through further measures to provide rehabilitation-related information.

Background
The number of requests for medical rehabilitation for children and adolescents has declined significantly since 2007. This development cannot be explained solely by socio-demographic shifts or a decrease in the prevalence of rehabilitation-related conditions in the relevant age groups. Recent data also shows that while acute respiratory diseases or other infectious diseases are on the decline, rehabilitation-relevant diseases such as metabolic or circulatory diseases, as well as depression, have increased during the COVID-19 pandemic. The reasons for the decline in the number of requests are probably multifactorial. It is known that system-related and personal factors can impact the use of rehabilitation. These include, for example, knowledge about rehabilitation, the satisfaction of peers with rehabilitation experience, support from physicians and the complexity of the application process.
The ZuKiJu project aims to address these different factors with a multimodal intervention. In order to reduce the complexity of the application process, a new application form is being developed with the involvement of several interest groups such as pediatricians, affected families or patient representatives and pension insurance employees (measure 1). At the same time, the German Pension Insurance North is developing a web-based information service (measure 2) and promoting the medical rehabilitation services for children and young people and the shortened application process at regional information events (measure 3). The Ethno-Medical Center e. V. is developing and implementing a coaching concept for families with extended support needs, which is intended to ensure active support in the application process as a low-threshold offer of assistance (measure 4).

Methods
The evaluation is based on a mixed-methods study with formative and summative evaluation elements. The development of the new application form is accompanied by cognitive interviews and written user surveys. Participants in the information events and the coachings will be surveyed in writing on the quality of implementation and satisfaction. For the development of the web-based information service, user needs are initially assessed in workshops and users are subsequently questioned about their satisfaction with the service.
The effectiveness of the overall intervention (measures 1 to 4) is assessed using a difference-in-differences approach, in which repeated cross-sectional data is used to estimate the difference between two before-after changes in an exposed and a non-exposed region. The exposure represents the introduction of the intervention. The insurance area of the German Pension Insurance North (Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schleswig-Holstein) represents the exposed intervention region. The insurance territory of another regional German Pension Insurance provider represents the non-exposed control region. The outcome is the mean change in requests for child and adolescent rehabilitation in the exposed intervention region in relation to the non-exposed control region.
Short titleZuKiJu
AcronymZuKiJu
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.01.2431.12.27

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being
  • SDG 10 - Reduced Inequalities

Research Areas and Centers

  • Research Area: Center for Population Medicine and Public Health (ZBV)

DFG Research Classification Scheme

  • 205-02 Public Health, Health Services Research and Social Medicine

Barrieren im Zugang zu Kinder- und Jugendlichenrehabilitation abbauen

  • Bethge, Matthias (Projektleiter*in (PI))
  • Banaschak, Hannes (Beteiligte*r Wissenschaftler*in)
  • Schwarz, Silke (Beteiligte Person)
  • Carow, Franziska (Beteiligte*r Wissenschaftler*in)

Projekt: Projekte aus BundesmittelnDRV-Projekte

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Fragestellung
Die Studie begleitet den Aufbau und die Implementierung einer multimodalen Intervention zur Verbesserung der Antragszahlen der medizinischen Rehabilitation für Kinder und Jugendliche. Ziel ist es, die Komplexität der Antragstellung durch einen vereinfachten Antrag zu reduzieren und die Antragszahlen in den Modellregionen durch weitere Maßnahmen der rehabilitationsbezogenen Informationsvermittlung zu steigern.

Hintergrund
Die Anzahl der Anträge auf eine medizinische Rehabilitation für Kinder und Jugendliche ist seit dem Jahr 2007 stark zurückgegangen. Diese Entwicklung lässt sich nicht allein über soziodemografische Verschiebungen oder eine Abnahme der Prävalenz rehabilitationsrelevanter Erkrankungen in den relevanten Altersgruppen erklären. Aktuelle Erhebungen zeigen zudem, dass zwar akute Atemwegserkrankungen oder sonstige Erkrankungen infektiösen Ursprungs rückläufig sind, rehabilitationsrelevante Erkrankungen wie Stoffwechsel- oder Kreislauferkrankungen, aber auch Depressionen, während der COVID-19-Pandemie zugenommen haben.
Die Gründe für den Rückgang der Antragszahlen sind vermutlich multifaktoriell. Bekannt ist, dass systembezogene und persönliche Faktoren die Reha-Inanspruchnahme beeinflussen können. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise das Wissen über die Rehabilitation, die Zufriedenheit von rehabilitationserfahrenen Peers, die Unterstützung durch behandelnde Ärzte sowie die Komplexität des Antragsverfahrens.
Im Projekt ZuKiJu sollen diese unterschiedlichen Faktoren mit einer multimodalen Intervention adressiert werden. Um die Komplexität des Antragsverfahrens zu reduzieren, wird ein neues Antragsformular unter Einbindung mehrerer Interessengruppen wie Pädiatern, betroffenen Familien bzw. Patientenvertretern und Mitarbeitern der Rentenversicherung entwickelt (Maßnahme 1). Parallel hierzu baut die Deutschen Rentenversicherung Nord ein Online-Informationsangebot auf (Maßnahme 2) und bewirbt das Angebot der medizinischen Rehabilitation für Kinder und Jugendliche sowie das verkürzte Antragsverfahren auf regionalen Informationsveranstaltungen (Maßnahme 3). Für Familien mit erweitertem Unterstützungsbedarf entwickelt und implementiert das Ethno-Medizinischen Zentrum e. V. ein Coaching-Konzept, das als niedrigschwelliges Hilfsangebot eine aktive Unterstützung im Antragsprozess gewährleisten soll (Maßnahme 4).

Methoden
Die Evaluation erfolgt im Rahmen einer Mixed-Methods-Studie mit formativen und summativen Evaluationselementen. Die Entwicklung des neuen Antragsformulars wird durch kognitive Interviews und schriftliche Nutzerbefragungen begleitet. Teilnehmende der Informationsveranstaltungen und des Coachings-Angebots werden schriftlich zur Umsetzungsqualität und Zufriedenheit befragt. Für die Entwicklung des Online-Informationsangebots werden initial die Nutzerbedürfnisse im Rahmen von Workshops erfasst und Nutzer anschließend zur Zufriedenheit mit dem Angebot befragt.
Die Wirksamkeitsprüfung der Gesamtintervention (Maßnahme 1 bis 4) erfolgt mit einem Difference-in-Differences-Ansatz, bei dem wiederholte Querschnittsdaten genutzt werden, um den Unterschied von zwei Vorher-Nachher-Veränderungen in einer exponierten und einer nicht exponierten Region zu schätzen. Die Exposition stellt die Einführung des Maßnahmenpakets dar. Das Versicherungsgebiet der Deutschen Rentenversicherung Nord (Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schleswig-Holstein) repräsentiert die exponierte Interventionsregion. Das Versicherungsgebiert eines anderen Regionalträgers der Deutschen Rentenversicherung repräsentiert die nicht-exponierte Kontrollregion. Zielgröße ist die mittlere Veränderung der Anträge auf Kinder- und Jugendlichenrehabillitation der Deutschen Rentenversicherung in der exponierten Interventionsregion im Verhältnis zur nicht exponierten Kontrollregion.
KurztitelZuKiJu
AkronymZuKiJu
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.01.2431.12.27

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
  • SDG 10 – Weniger Ungleichheiten

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Profilbereich: Zentrum für Bevölkerungsmedizin und Versorgungsforschung (ZBV)

DFG-Fachsystematik

  • 205-02 Public Health, medizinische Versorgungsforschung, Sozialmedizin