MSCA Postdoctoral Fellowship

Project: EU FundingMSCA Funding

Project Details

Description

Dr. Manon Rivagorda from the Institute of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology receives Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) Postdoctoral Fellowship for a 2-year project to investigate the role of tanycytes

As part of the EU Horizon funding program, Dr. Rivagorda will receive 189,687 euros for 2 years to continue her research in the field of brain research.

Dr. Rivagorda's research focuses on special cells in the brain, the so-called tanycytes. These cells are located on the wall of the third ventricle of the brain and have tiny hair-like structures called primary cilia. Tanycytes are important for various functions in the body, such as eating, energy balance and sleep-wake rhythm. In her research project "TanyCilia", Dr. Rivagorda is investigating how these cilia function in a part of the brain (hypothalamus) under normal and pathological conditions, such as obesity, and which mechanisms play a role in this.

The findings on the structure and function of these cellular sensors and their role in metabolic diseases will deepen our understanding of brain-body communication and thus create a basis for potential new therapeutic approaches for metabolic diseases.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.05.2430.04.26

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being

Research Areas and Centers

  • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)

DFG Research Classification Scheme

  • 205-09 Pharmacology
  • 205-17 Endocrinology, Diabetology, Metabolism

MSCA Postdoctoral Fellowship

Projekt: EU-FörderungenMSCA Funding

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Dr. Manon Rivagorda vom Institut für Experimentelle und Klinische Pharmakologie und Toxikologie erhält Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) Postdoktorandenstipendium für 2 Jahresprojekt zur Erforschung der Rolle von Tanycyten

Im Rahmen des EU Horizon Förderprogrammes stehen Dr. Rivagorda für 2 Jahre 189.687 Euro zur Verfügung, um ihre Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Hirnforschung fortzuführen.

Dr. Rivagordas Forschung beschäftigt sich mit speziellen Zellen im Gehirn, den sogenannten Tanycyten. Diese Zellen befinden sich an der Wand der dritten Hirnkammer und haben winzige haarähnliche Strukturen, die primären Zilien genannt werden. Tanycyten sind wichtig für verschiedene Funktionen im Körper, wie das Essen, Energiehaushalt und Schlaf-Wach-Rhythmus. In ihrem Forschungsprojekt "TanyCilia" untersucht Dr. Rivagorda, wie diese Zilien einem Teil des Gehirns (Hypothalamus) unter normalen und krankhaften Bedingungen, wie zum Beispiel bei Fettleibigkeit, funktionieren und welche Mechanismen dabei eine Rolle spielen.

Durch die Erkenntnisse u.a. über die Struktur und Funktion dieser zellulären Sensoren und deren Rolle bei metabolischen Erkrankungen soll das Verständnis der Gehirn-Körper-Kommunikation vertieft und so eine Basis für potenzielle neue therapeutische Ansätze für Stoffwechselerkrankungen geschaffen werden.
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.05.2430.04.26

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gehirn, Hormone, Verhalten - Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)

DFG-Fachsystematik

  • 205-09 Pharmakologie
  • 205-17 Endokrinologie, Diabetologie, Metabolismus

Fingerprint

Erkunden Sie die Forschungsthemen zu diesem Projekt. Diese Zuordnungen werden Bewilligungen und Fördermitteln entsprechend generiert. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.