LaNCa - Long-term follow-up after childhood, adolescent and young adult cancer in Schleswig-Holstein - New cancer survivorship care services

Project: State Funding State Funding: Health Care Fund SH

Project Details

Description

Objective
How can better cross-sectoral long-term follow-up care of children, adolescents and young adults after cancer be ensured in an area like Schleswig-Holstein?

Background
Cured children, adolescents and young adults with cancer show an increased morbidity and mortality due to the past cancer disease and treatment. Therefore, continuous long-term follow-up in terms of secondary prevention is recommended for this patient group. Due to the diversity of possible late sequelae and the often individualized oncological treatment, multidisciplinary teams of pediatricians, internists and specialists of other disciplines as well as psychologists are recommended for the implementation of these recommendations, which offer a specialized and structured long-term follow-up (follow-up and preventive examinations). The follow-up care should be coordinated and implemented together with the general practitioners and pediatricians in private practice.

The aim of this study is to develop a structured, cross-sectoral aftercare concept and to implement it nationwide in Schleswig-Holstein.

Methods
This is an implementation study in which a structured aftercare offer is to be established and evaluated in Schleswig-Holstein.

In preparation, knowledge about and wishes for long-term aftercare on the part of former patients will be recorded by means of structured interviews, whereby the transition from adolescent to adult medicine plays a special role. In addition, physicians in private practice will be interviewed regarding promoting and inhibiting factors with regard to guideline-based aftercare and their attitudes towards telemedicine. A cross-sectoral aftercare concept will be implemented, accompanied by needs-based information brochures for patients and physicians, which will be supported by telemedicine services. The evaluation of the aftercare concept will be carried out by means of a questionnaire on the treatment satisfaction of the patients and the satisfaction of the participating physicians.
Short titleLaNCa
AcronymLaNCa
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.09.2131.08.24

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being

Research Areas and Centers

  • Research Area: Center for Population Medicine and Public Health (ZBV)
  • Research Area: Luebeck Integrated Oncology Network (LION)
  • Centers: University Cancer Center Schleswig-Holstein (UCCSH)

DFG Research Classification Scheme

  • 205-02 Public Health, Health Services Research and Social Medicine

LaNCa - Langzeitnachsorge nach einer Krebserkrankung im Kindes-, Jugend- und jungen Erwachsenenalter in Schleswig-Holstein – Neue Versorgungsangebote zum Thema „Cancer Survivorship“

Projekt: Projekte aus LandesmittelnLandesmittel: Versorgungssicherungsfonds SH

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Fragestellung
Wie kann in einem Flächenland wie Schleswig-Holstein eine bessere sektorenübergreifende Langzeit-Nachsorge von Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen nach einer Krebserkrankung gewährleistet werden?

Hintergrund
Geheilte krebskranke Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene weisen aufgrund der zurückliegende Krebserkrankung und –behandlung eine erhöhte Morbidität und Mortalität auf. Daher wird für diese Patientengruppe eine kontinuierliche Langzeitnachsorge im Sinne der Sekundärprävention empfohlen. Aufgrund der Diversität möglicher Spätfolgen und der häufig individualisierten onkologischen Behandlung werden zur Umsetzung dieser Empfehlungen multidisziplinäre Teams aus Pädiatern, Internist*innen und, Fachärzt*innen weiterer Disziplinen sowie Psycholog*innen empfohlen, die eine spezialisierte und strukturierte Langzeitnachsorge (Nach- und Vorsorgeuntersuchungen) anbieten. Die Nachsorge sollte gemeinsam mit den niedergelassenen Haus- und Kinderärzt*innen koordiniert und umgesetzt werden.

Ziel dieser Studie ist es, ein strukturiertes, sektorenübergreifendes Nachsorgekonzept zu entwickeln und flächendeckend in Schleswig-Holstein umzusetzen.

Methoden
Es handelt sich um eine Implementierungsstudie, bei der ein strukturiertes Nachsorgeangebot in Schleswig-Holstein etabliert und evaluiert werden soll.

Vorbereitend werden mittels strukturierter Interviews die Kenntnisse über und Wünsche an die Langzeitnachsorge seitens der ehemaligen Patient*innen erfasst, wobei die Transition von der Jugend- in die Erwachsenenmedizin eine besondere Rolle spielt. Zusätzlich werden niedergelassene Ärzt*innen hinsichtlich fördernder und hemmender Faktoren bzgl. einer leitliniengerechten Nachsorge und zu ihren Einstellungen zur Telemedizin befragt. Es wird ein sektorenübergreifendes Nachsorgekonzept implementiert, begleitet durch bedarfsgerechte Informationsbroschüren für Patient*innen und Ärzt*innen, welches durch telemedizinische Angebote unterstützt werden soll. Die Evaluation des Nachsorgekonzepts erfolgt mittels eines Fragebogens zur Behandlungszufriedenheit der Patient*innen und der Zufriedenheit der teilnehmenden niedergelassenen Ärzt*innen.
KurztitelLaNCa
AkronymLaNCa
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.09.2131.08.24

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Profilbereich: Zentrum für Bevölkerungsmedizin und Versorgungsforschung (ZBV)
  • Profilbereich: Lübeck Integrated Oncology Network (LION)
  • Zentren: Universitäres Cancer Center Schleswig-Holstein (UCCSH)

DFG-Fachsystematik

  • 205-02 Public Health, medizinische Versorgungsforschung, Sozialmedizin