Innovative University (Innovative Hochschule)

Project: Projects with Federal FundingProjects with Federal Ministry Funding: BMBF

Project Details

Description

The "Innovative University" funding initiative focuses on the third mission - alongside research and teaching - of "transfer and innovation" and is aimed in particular at small and medium-sized universities and universities of applied sciences.

In our diverse higher education landscape, new ideas, new knowledge and new technologies are created every day. The close and reciprocal exchange between universities and stakeholders from business, culture and society is therefore a significant driver of innovation. To ensure that these technological and social innovations from universities continue to be the driving force behind our prosperity and quality of life in the future, the federal and state governments have adopted the "Innovative University" initiative to promote the research-based transfer of ideas, knowledge and technology. The "Innovative University" thus contributes to turning research findings in all scientific disciplines into creative solutions for the pressing challenges of our time even more efficiently.

Universities make an important contribution to innovation in their region. On the one hand, they make knowledge available regionally through teaching and research; on the other hand, they take up ideas and concrete questions from their surroundings and develop innovative products and services with their partners. Successful transfer is therefore a two-way process. The "Innovative University" promotes the strategic development and expansion of cooperation with business and industry and other social actors, thereby strengthening the strategic role of universities in the regional innovation system.

The "Innovative University" is aimed at universities that already have a coherent strategy for their interaction with business and society as well as structures and experience in the transfer of ideas, knowledge and technology. The funding gives them the opportunity to strategically develop and implement their profile in the transfer of ideas, knowledge and technology for the entire university or selected thematic areas of the university, to optimize their transfer structures, to strengthen their networking with the regional environment, to strategically align established instruments for transfer and, in particular, to establish or expand innovative forms of cooperation with business, culture and society.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.01.2331.12.27

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure

Research Areas and Centers

  • Centers: Center for Artificial Intelligence Luebeck (ZKIL)
  • Research Area: Intelligent Systems

Innovative Hochschule

Projekt: Projekte aus BundesmittelnProjekte aus Mitteln der Bundesministerien: BMBF

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Die Förderinitiative „Innovative Hochschule“ nimmt die – neben Forschung und Lehre – dritte Mission „Transfer und Innovation“ in den Blick und richtet sich insbesondere an kleine und mittlere Universitäten sowie an Fachhochschulen.

In unserer vielfältigen Hochschullandschaft entstehen täglich neue Ideen, neues Wissen und neue Technologien. Der enge und wechselseitige Austausch von Hochschulen mit Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, Kultur und Gesellschaft ist deshalb ein bedeutender Motor für Innovationen. Damit diese technologischen und sozialen Innovationen aus den Hochschulen auch in Zukunft die treibende Kraft für unseren Wohlstand und unsere Lebensqualität sind, haben Bund und Länder die Initiative „Innovative Hochschule“ zur Förderung des forschungsbasierten Ideen-, Wissens- und Technologietransfers beschlossen. Die „Innovative Hochschule“ trägt damit dazu bei, dass aus Erkenntnissen der Forschung in allen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen noch effizienter kreative Lösungen für die drängenden Herausforderungen unserer Zeit werden.

Hochschulen leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zu Innovationen in ihrer Region. Sie machen einerseits durch Lehre und Forschung Wissen regional verfügbar, nehmen andererseits Ideen und konkrete Fragestellungen aus ihrer Umgebung auf und erarbeiten mit ihren Partnern innovative Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Erfolgreicher Transfer ist daher ein wechselseitiger Prozess. Die „Innovative Hochschule“ fördert den strategischen Auf- und Ausbau der Zusammenarbeit mit der Wirtschaft und anderen gesellschaftlichen Akteuren und stärkt damit die strategische Rolle der Hochschulen im regionalen Innovationssystem.

Die „Innovative Hochschule“ richtet sich an Hochschulen, die bereits über eine kohärente Strategie für ihre Interaktion mit Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sowie Strukturen und Erfahrungen im Ideen-, Wissens- und Technologietransfer verfügen. Sie erhalten durch die Förderung die Möglichkeit ihr Profil im Ideen-, Wissens- und Technologietransfer der gesamten Hochschule oder ausgewählter thematischer Bereiche der Hochschule strategisch weiterzuentwickeln und umzusetzen, ihre Transferstrukturen zu optimieren, ihre Vernetzung mit dem regionalen Umfeld zu stärken, etablierte Instrumente für den Transfer strategisch auszurichten sowie insbesondere innovative Formen der Zusammenarbeit mit Wirtschaft, Kultur und Gesellschaft auf- bzw. auszubauen.


StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.01.2331.12.27

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 9 – Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Zentren: Zentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz Lübeck (ZKIL)
  • Querschnittsbereich: Intelligente Systeme