Elicitation of antibodies broadly neutralizing the porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus (PRRSV) using reverse vaccinology

  • Krey, Thomas (Principal Investigator (PI))
  • Lamp, Benjamin (Principal Investigator (PI))

Project: DFG ProjectsDFG Individual Projects

Project Details

Description

Porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus (PRRSV) is an economically important pathogen of swine. Unfortunately, the available live attenuated and inactivated vaccines provide only limited protection against symptomatic disease and cannot effectively prevent the spread of virulent field viruses in swine herds. Although a strong humoral immune response against homologous viral strains is elicited after vaccination, the achieved protection against genetically divergent viral strains is insufficient. Traditional vaccine approaches apparently cannot cover the large genetic variability of PRRSV comprising two separate species (PRRSV-1 and -2). The structure of PRRSV glycoproteins remains elusive to date, complicating the use of structure-based vaccine design to improve vaccine efficacy. In this project, we will apply reverse vaccinology approaches to fill these gaps. Using multi-color FACS with fluorescently labeled PRRSV glycoproteins and virions followed by state-of-the-art single B cell sequencing we will analyze the PRRSV-specific porcine antibody repertoire. Individual antibodies will be expressed recombinantly and the recombinant antibodies characterized with respect to their neutralization profile and potency as well as their cognate antigen. In parallel, we will build on our successful pipeline to identify PRRSV neutralization epitopes to focus on highly conserved epitopes targeted by broadly neutralizing antibodies that are of particular interest for vaccine design. For this purpose, we will immunize mice sequentially with PRRSV-1 and PRRSV-2 virions followed by isolation of memory B cells reacting with glycoproteins of both species and characterization of bnAbs as described above. We will also investigate interesting neutralizing antibodies generated in pigs or mice in this study with respect to their neutralization mechanism and whether the virus can escape these antibodies by mutation in a so-called "immune escape". Finally, we will structurally characterize the neutralizing antibody mAb18, which we have already identified in a proof-of-concept study to recognize PRRSV gp2, in complex with an epitope peptide and use the resulting structure to develop an epitope-focused vaccine. To this end, we will transfer this epitope to suitable "scaffold" proteins, produce a scaffold-based vaccine candidate in the form of nanoparticles and validate this candidate in a challenge trial in pigs. Taken together, this project will provide important insights into the immune response to PRRSV glycoproteins to facilitate informed vaccine design.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.01.2331.12.27

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being

Research Areas and Centers

  • Academic Focus: Center for Infection and Inflammation Research (ZIEL)

DFG Research Classification Scheme

  • 207-08 Veterinary Medicine
  • 204-04 Virology

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • Drug repurposing screen identifies lonafarnib as respiratory syncytial virus fusion protein inhibitor

    Sake, S. M., Zhang, X., Rajak, M. K., Urbanek-Quaing, M., Carpentier, A., Gunesch, A. P., Grethe, C., Matthaei, A., Rückert, J., Galloux, M., Larcher, T., Le Goffic, R., Hontonnou, F., Chatterjee, A. K., Johnson, K., Morwood, K., Rox, K., Elgaher, W. A. M., Huang, J., Wetzke, M., & 12 othersHansen, G., Fischer, N., Eléouët, J. F., Rameix-Welti, M. A., Hirsch, A. K. H., Herold, E., Empting, M., Lauber, C., Schulz, T. F., Krey, T., Haid, S. & Pietschmann, T., 08.02.2024, In: Nature Communications. 15, 1, p. 1173 1 p., 1173.

    Research output: Journal ArticlesScientific review articlesResearch

Erzeugung von Antikörpern, die das Virus des porcinen reproduktiven und respiratorischen Syndroms (PRRSV) breit neutralisieren

  • Krey, Thomas (Projektleiter*in (PI))
  • Lamp, Benjamin (Projektleiter*in (PI))

Projekt: DFG-ProjekteDFG Einzelförderungen

Projektdetails

Projektbeschreibung

Das Virus des Porzinen Reproduktiven und Respiratorischen Syndroms (PRRSV) ist ein wirtschaftlich wichtiger Krankheitserreger bei Schweinen. Leider bieten die verfügbaren abgeschwächten und inaktivierten Lebendimpfstoffe nur einen begrenzten Schutz gegen symptomatische Erkrankungen und können die Verbreitung virulenter Feldviren in Schweinebeständen nicht verhindern. Obwohl nach der Impfung eine starke humorale Immunantwort gegen homologe Virusstämme ausgelöst wird, ist der erzielte Schutz gegen genetisch abweichende Virusstämme unzureichend. Herkömmliche Impfstoffansätze können offenbar nicht die große genetische Variabilität von PRRSV abdecken, welches aus zwei getrennten Spezies (PRRSV-1 und -2) besteht. Die Struktur der PRRSV-Glykoproteine ist bis heute nicht bekannt, was den Einsatz von strukturbasierten Impfstoffen zur Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit erschwert. In diesem Projekt werden wir Ansätze der "reversen Vakzinologie" anwenden, um diese Lücken zu schließen. Mithilfe von FACS mit fluoreszenzmarkierten PRRSV-Glykoproteinen und -Virionen und anschließender Einzelsequenzierung PRRSV-spezifischer B-Zellen werden wir das PRRSV-spezifische Antikörperrepertoire infizierter Schweine analysieren. Einzelne Antikörper werden rekombinant exprimiert und die rekombinanten Antikörper hinsichtlich ihres Neutralisationsprofils und ihrer Potenz sowie des betreffenden Antigens charakterisiert. Parallel dazu werden wir auf unserer erfolgreichen Pipeline zur Identifizierung von PRRSV-Neutralisationsepitopen aufbauen und uns auf hochkonservierte Epitope konzentrieren, die von breit neutralisierenden Antikörpern erkannt werden und die für die Entwicklung von Impfstoffen von besonderem Interesse sind. Zu diesem Zweck werden wir Mäuse nacheinander mit PRRSV-1- und PRRSV-2-Virionen immunisieren, anschließend Gedächtnis-B-Zellen isolieren, die mit Glykoproteinen beider Spezies reagieren, und breit neutralisierende Antikörper wie oben beschrieben charakterisieren. Interessante neutralisierende Antikörper, die in dieser Studie in Schweinen oder Mäusen erzeugt wurden, werden wir auch auf ihren Neutralisierungsmechanismus untersuchen und ob das Virus diesen Antikörpern durch Mutation in einem sogenannten "immune escape" entgehen kann. Schließlich werden wir den von uns bereits isolierten neutralisierenden Antikörper mAb18, der PRRSV gp2 erkennt, im Komplex mit einem Epitoppeptid strukturell charakterisieren und die resultierende Struktur für die Entwicklung eines epitop-fokussierten Impfstoffs verwenden. Wir werden dazu dieses Epitop auf geeignete „Scaffold“-Proteine übertragen, einen Scaffold-basierten Impfstoffkandidaten in Form von Nanopartikeln herstellen und diesen in einem Versuch an Schweinen validieren. Zusammengefasst wird dieses Projekt wichtige Einblicke in die Immunreaktion gegen PRRSV-Glykoproteine liefern und somit wichtige Erkenntnisse für ein rationales Impfstoffdesign liefern.
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.01.2331.12.27

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Infektion und Entzündung - Zentrum für Infektions- und Entzündungsforschung Lübeck (ZIEL)

DFG-Fachsystematik

  • 207-08 Tiermedizin
  • 204-04 Virologie
  • Drug repurposing screen identifies lonafarnib as respiratory syncytial virus fusion protein inhibitor

    Sake, S. M., Zhang, X., Rajak, M. K., Urbanek-Quaing, M., Carpentier, A., Gunesch, A. P., Grethe, C., Matthaei, A., Rückert, J., Galloux, M., Larcher, T., Le Goffic, R., Hontonnou, F., Chatterjee, A. K., Johnson, K., Morwood, K., Rox, K., Elgaher, W. A. M., Huang, J., Wetzke, M., &12 mehrHansen, G., Fischer, N., Eléouët, J. F., Rameix-Welti, M. A., Hirsch, A. K. H., Herold, E., Empting, M., Lauber, C., Schulz, T. F., Krey, T., Haid, S. & Pietschmann, T., 08.02.2024, in: Nature Communications. 15, 1, S. 1173 1 S., 1173.

    Publikation: Beiträge in FachzeitschriftenÜbersichtsarbeitenForschung