CRC 654: Plasticity and Sleep

  • Born, Jan (Speaker, Coordinator)

    Project: DFG ProjectsDFG Joint Research: Collaborative Research Center/ Transregios

    Project Details

    Description

    The general hypothesis of the Collaborative Research Centre is that sleep promotes adaptive plastic processes, i.e., processes of memory formation that enable a long-term stable regulation within different functional organ systems under changing environmental conditions. The function of sleep is largely unknown so far. Recent research has pointed out a fundamental role that sleep might play for the consolidation and formation of long-term memories.
    Memory formation is viewed as a general biological process that takes place in all organ systems, which do not only acutely respond to stimuli (stressors) but adapt and develop long-term response strategies to these stimuli. Accordingly, memory is formed not only in the brain, for events experienced during wakefulness, but also in other systems, like the immune system forming memories for specific antigens, and the metabolic system which has to adapt to changing conditions of energy supply.
    The research of this Collaborative Research Centre investigates the plastic mechanisms underlying memory formation during sleep in all these systems, i.e., the neurobehavioral system, the metabolic system and the immune system. It is assumed that sleep-associated memory formation represents an active process that partly relies on a covert reactivation of the stimuli and stressors experienced during the wake phase. Moreover, it is assumed that sleep activates specific key signals that support memory formation in parallel in all three systems of interest. Sleep provides optimal conditions for memory formation since during this phase interference from environmental stimuli and a potential disruption of underlying plastic processes is minimised.
    On this background, the Collaborative Research Centre pursues three long-term goals:
    - It is intended to show that sleep reinforces memory consolidation in all three systems of interest.
    - It is intended to elucidate the plastic mechanisms underlying memory formation during sleep.
    - Sleep medical therapeutic strategies shall be developed which enable a more efficient treatment of a great variety of diseases (e.g., schizophrenia, obesity, sleep apnea) that involve alterations of memory formation in one of the systems of interest.
    Statusfinished
    Effective start/end date01.01.0531.12.17

    UN Sustainable Development Goals

    In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

    • SDG 3 - Good Health and Well-being

    Research Areas and Centers

    • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)
    • Academic Focus: Center for Infection and Inflammation Research (ZIEL)

    DFG Research Classification Scheme

    • 204-05 Immunology
    • 206-04 Cognitive, Systemic and Behavioural Neurobiology

SFB 654: Plastizität und Schlaf

  • Born, Jan (Sprecher*in, Koordinator*in)

    Projekt: DFG-ProjekteDFG-Verbundforschung: Sonderforschungsbereiche/ Transregios

    Projektdetails

    Projektbeschreibung

    Der Forschungsansatz des Sonderforschungsbereichs basiert auf der Hypothese Schlaf bildet Gedächtnis , das heißt, Schlaf fördert adaptive plastische Prozesse, die eine langfristig stabile Regulation verschiedener Organsysteme unter wechselnden Umgebungsbedingungen ermöglichen. Wozu Schlaf notwendig ist, ist bisher weitgehend ungeklärt. Neuere Studien weisen nun auf die fundamentale Bedeutung des Schlafs für die Langzeitgedächtnisbildung hin.
    Gedächtnisbildung wird hier als ein allgemeiner biologischer Prozess verstanden, der in allen Systemen stattfindet, in denen der Organismus für Reize (,.Stressoren ) längerfristige Reaktionsstrategien herausbilden muss. Gedächtnisbildung findet also nicht nur im Gehirn - für Dinge, die im Wachzustand erlebt wurden - statt, sondern auch in anderen Systemen, so zum Beispiel im Immunsystem, in welchem das Gedächtnis für bestimmte Antigene gebildet wird, und auch im Stoffwechselsystem, das sich auf verändernde Bedingungen des Energieangebots einstellen muss.
    Im Sonderforschungsbereich werden in all diesen Systemen, das heißt im neurobehaviouralen, im stoffwechselbezogenen und im Immunsystem, die plastischen Mechanismen untersucht, durch die Schlaf in diesen verschiedenen Systemen die Gedächtnisbildung verstärkt. Die im Schlaf stattfindende Gedächtnisbildung wird als ein aktiver Prozess konzipiert, der auf einer unterschwelligen Reaktivierung enkodierter Stimuli und Stressoren beruht. Vermutet wird, dass im Schlaf bestimmte Schlüsselsignale aktiviert werden, die die Gedächtnisbildung in diesen Systemen in paralleler Weise befördern. Während des Schlafs bestehen zudem optimale Voraussetzungen für die Gedächtnisbildung, da hier potenziell störende äußere und innere Reize weitestgehend von der Verarbeitung ausgeschlossen sind.
    Vor diesem Hintergrund verfolgt der Sonderforschungsbereich drei Ziele:
    -- Es soll gezeigt werden, dass Schlaf in allen drei der interessierenden Systeme Gedächtnis bildet.
    -- Es sollen die plastischen Mechanismen, die dieser Gedächtnisbildung zugrunde liegen, charakterisiert werden.
    -- Es sollen schlafmedizinische Strategien entwickelt werden, die es ermöglichen, das breite Spektrum von Erkrankungen, bei denen Störungen der Gedächtnisbildung in bestimmten dieser Systeme vorliegen (zum Beispiel bei schizophrenen, fettleibigen und Apnoe-Patienten), effizienter behandeln zu können.
    Statusabgeschlossen
    Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.01.0531.12.17

    UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

    2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

    • SDG 3 – Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

    Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

    • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gehirn, Hormone, Verhalten - Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)
    • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Infektion und Entzündung - Zentrum für Infektions- und Entzündungsforschung Lübeck (ZIEL)

    DFG-Fachsystematik

    • 204-05 Immunologie
    • 206-04 Kognitive, Systemische und Verhaltensneurobiologie