University Teaching Award 2021: Interaction in online teaching

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Interaction in online teaching: The University Teaching Award 2021 goes to Prof. Dr. Sarah Jessen.

The prize, this year under the motto "Interaction in online teaching", was presented to her by the President of the University, Prof. Dr. Gabriele Gillessen-Kaesbach, at a ceremony in the Lübeck Colosseum on November 24th. Prof. Jessen Prof. Dr. Jessen is honored for her teaching in the field of social psychology.
Prof. Dr. phil. Sarah Jessen, born in Bielefeld in 1983, completed her Bachelor's degree in Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück in 2006 and her Master's degree in Neuro- and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Tübingen in 2008. She received her doctorate from the Free University of Berlin in 2012. She conducted the research for her dissertation at the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig, where she also worked as a postdoctoral fellow. She has been a research associate at the University of Luebeck since 2016. In 2021, she completed her habilitation (second doctorate) in psychology at the University of Luebeck and has meanwhile been appointed to a professorship in DFG`s Heisenberg program.

The University Teaching Award has been presented annually since 2016. It is interdisciplinary in nature and is awarded university-wide each year under a specific motto.
The award is intended to highlight the special importance of university teaching for the training of young academics, among other things, and to create a career-effective incentive to get involved in high quality university teaching and promote it beyond one's own area of activity. At the same time, the quality of teaching by all teaching staff is to be established as a central criterion of excellence and profiled as a strategic goal of the university's management.
Degree of recognitionRegional
Granting OrganisationsUniversity of Luebeck

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2020 & 2021
LocationRathaus Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period24.11.2021

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)

Universitätslehrpreis 2021: Interaktion in der Online-Lehre

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Interaktion in der Online-Lehre: Der Universitätslehrpreis 2021 geht an Prof. Dr. Sarah Jessen.

Der Preis, der in diesem Jahr unter dem Motto „Interaktion in der Online-Lehre“ stand, wurde ihr von der Präsidentin der Universität, Prof. Dr. Gabriele Gillessen-Kaesbach, am 24. November im Lübecker Kolosseum feierlich verliehen. Prof. Jessen Prof. Dr. Jessen wird für ihre Lehre im Fach Sozialpsychologie ausgezeichnet.
Prof. Dr. phil. Sarah Jessen, 1983 in Bielefeld geboren, machte 2006 ihren Bachelor in Cognitive Science an der Universität Osnabrück und 2008 den Masterabschluss in Neuro- und Verhaltenswissenschaften an der Universität Tübingen. 2012 wurde sie an der Freien Universität Berlin promoviert. Die Forschungen für ihre Dissertation hatte sie am Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften in Leipzig gemacht, wo sie auch als Postdoc-Stipendiatin tätig war. Seit 2016 ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Universitätsklinik für Neurologie in Lübeck. 2021 habilitierte sie sich im Fach Psychologie an der Universität zu Lübeck und hat inzwischen eine Professur im Rahmen des Heisenberg-Programms der DFG erhalten.

Der Lehrpreis der Universität zu Lübeck wird seit 2016 jährlich verliehen. Er ist überfachlich und interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und wird universitätsweit jedes Jahr unter einem bestimmten Motto ausgelobt.
Die Auszeichnung soll die besondere Bedeutung der Hochschullehre u.a. auch für die Ausbildung des akademischen Nachwuchses sichtbar machen und einen karrierewirksamen Anreiz schaffen, sich in der Hochschullehre zu engagieren und sie über den eigenen Wirkungsbereich hinaus zu fördern. Gleichzeitig soll die Qualität der Lehre aller Lehrenden als ein zentrales Gütekriterium etabliert und als strategisches Ziel des Qualitätsmanagements der Hochschule profiliert werden.
BekanntheitsgradRegional
Förderer/MittelgeberUniversität zu Lübeck

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2020 & 2021
OrtRathaus Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum24.11.2021

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gehirn, Hormone, Verhalten - Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)