University Teaching Award 2018: Digital Teaching

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

PD Dr. rer. nat. Amir Madany Mamlouk receives the University Teaching Award 2018 for his teaching concept "From Zero to Hero: Digital Teaching - Student-centered Learning Islands in Bioinformatics".

Dr. Madany's research focuses on the application of machine learning to problems in medicine and the life sciences. The award-winning teaching innovation "From Zero to Hero" is not just about the digitalization of a course, but rather about the question of how to create learning spaces for students in which they feel inspired rather than stressed. With a room climate in which enthusiasm for science can develop and, if possible, no frustration: instead of a written exam, the final grade is based on experience points (XPs), which - like in a computer game - can be earned in the online system during the semester. In addition, there are individual challenge and support lines that give all students the opportunity to set their own priorities - online, around the clock.

Dr. Madany Mamlouk has been working on this concept for five years. In the 2017 winter semester, a lecture on bioinformatics was assessed exclusively using this simple and transparent points system for the first time. It has been shown that the XP system not only has the potential to reduce study stress and sustainably increase student motivation, it has also been shown that more than 80 percent of participants would have passed an old exam even without preparation.
Dr. Amir Madany Mamlouk studied mathematics and computer science in Berlin and Luebeck. After spending time at the California Institute of Technology (USA) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Marine Biotechnology (EMB), he accepted an appointment as Junior Professor for Machine Learning in Medicine and Life Science at the University of Luebeck's Graduate School in 2009. He is now a private lecturer at the Institute of Neuro- and Bioinformatics. In addition to his scientific teaching activities, his teaching portfolio for more than ten years has also included his own courses on science communication for students, doctoral candidates and lecturers, which he has been offering for a long time now, and not only at the University of Lübeck. Both his specialist articles and his courses have already won several awards.

The University Teaching Award has been presented since 2016. It is awarded annually under changing mottos, this year it is "Digital Teaching". The award is interdisciplinary in nature and comes with a prize money of 3.000 Euros.
Degree of recognitionRegional
Granting OrganisationsUniversity of Luebeck

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2018
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period14.11.2018

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Centers: Center for Artificial Intelligence Luebeck (ZKIL)

Universitätslehrpreis 2018: Digitale Lehre

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Priv.-Doz. Dr. rer. nat. Amir Madany Mamlouk wurde 2018 für sein Lehrkonzept "From Zero to Hero: Digitale Lehre - Studierendenzentrierte Lerninseln in der Bioinformatik" mit dem Lehrpreis der Universität ausgezeichnet.

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung von Dr. Madany steht die Anwendung des Maschinellen Lernens auf Probleme in Medizin und Biowissenschaften. In der hier ausgezeichneten Lehrinnovation "From Zero to Hero" geht es nicht nur um die Digitalisierung einer Lehrveranstaltung, vielmehr geht es um die Frage, wie den Studierenden Lernräume geschaffen werden können, in denen sie sich nicht gestresst, sondern inspiriert fühlen. Mit einem Raumklima, in dem Begeisterung für Wissenschaft entstehen kann und möglichst kein Frust: Statt einer Klausur ergibt sich die Endnote aus Erfahrungspunkten (XPs), die - wie in einem Computerspiel - semesterbegleitend im Online-System erarbeitet werden können. Ergänzend dazu gibt es individuelle Forder- und Förderlinien, die allen Studierenden die Möglichkeit geben, eigene Schwerpunkte zu setzen - und das online, rund um die Uhr.

Dr. Madany Mamlouk arbeitet an diesem Konzept bereits seit fünf Jahren. Im Wintersemester 2017 wurde eine Vorlesung zur Bioinformatik erstmals ausschließlich durch dieses einfache und transparente Punktesystem bewertet. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass das XP-System nicht nur das Potential hat, den Studienstress zu senken und die Motivation der Studierenden nachhaltig zu steigern, es konnte auch gezeigt werden, dass mehr als 80 Prozent der Teilnehmer auch ohne Vorbereitung eine alte Klausur bestanden hätten.

Dr. Amir Madany Mamlouk hat Mathematik und Informatik in Berlin und Lübeck studiert. Nach Aufenthalten am California Institute of Technology (USA) und der Fraunhofer Einrichtung für Marine Biotechnologie (EMB) nahm er 2009 einen Ruf als Juniorprofessor für Machine Learning in Medicine and Life Science an die Graduiertenschule der Universität zu Lübeck an. Unterdessen ist er als Privatdozent am Institut für Neuro- und Bioinformatik tätig. Neben seinen wissenschaftlichen Lehrtätigkeiten umfasst sein Lehrportfolio seit mehr als zehn Jahren auch eigene Kursangebote zur Wissenschaftskommunikation für Studierende, Doktoranden und Dozenten, die er schon lange nicht mehr nur an der Universität zu Lübeck anbietet. Sowohl seine Fachbeiträge wie auch seine Lehrveranstaltungen wurden bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Der Lehrpreis der Universität wird seit 2016 verliehen. Er wird jährlich unter einem Jahresmotto ausgelobt, in diesem Jahr lautet es "Digitale Lehre". Der Lehrpreis ist überfachlich und interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und mit einem Preisgeld von 3.000 Euro ausgezeichnet.
BekanntheitsgradRegional
Förderer/MittelgeberUniversität zu Lübeck

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2018
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum14.11.2018

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Zentren: Zentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz Lübeck (ZKIL)