University Teaching Award 2017: Communication & Comprehension

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Professor Dr. Christian Hoffmann receives the University Teaching Award 2017 for his course concept: "Ethics of Innovative Technologies", which was offered as part of the Medical Electrical Engineering program.

In the winter semester 2016/2017, the course "Ethics of Innovative Technologies" was a seminar in the compulsory elective area of the new degree course "Robotics and Autonomous Systems". In future semesters, however, this seminar will be available to all degree courses as part of the interdisciplinary compulsory elective catalogue and thus also reflect the interdisciplinary character of the participating students.

The nine-member jury assessed the concept as follows:
Overall, the concept can be assessed as didactically innovative and conceptually convincing. It follows a sophisticated, methodically versatile approach and combines a variety of measures for knowledge transfer, activation and support into a coherent teaching-learning concept.

Second place went to Prof. Nicole Jochems with her concept for the EMI Award
(https://www.uni-luebeck.de/emi-award.html)

Excerpt from the application:


"The EMI Award is an innovative teaching concept that was conceived as part of the new Bachelor's degree program in Media Informatics at the University of Lübeck (start winter semester2014/2015) and was firmly established in the curriculum or course of study in the following semesters. The award describes both a project work as part of the first semester lecture Introduction to Media Informatics (EMI, module CS1600), as well as a cross-semester course concept. In addition to the project work of the first semester students, the project results of the Bachelor Project UI and Media Design course (module CS3210) are examined and presented and the best Master thesis and, in future, the best Bachelor thesis are awarded prizes.

The project work as part of the award offers students the opportunity to reflect on their own attitude to social issues in media informatics, to think through questions together with fellow students and to develop their own skills in a creative environment."

Third place went to the concept for the BioMedTec Science Campus student conference (www.studierendentagung.de).

Teaching team
Prof. Dr. Thorsten M. Buzug, Institute of Medical Technology
Prof. Dr. Heinz Handels, Institute of Medical Informatics
Dr. Jan-Hinrich Wrage, Institute of Medical Informatics
Christina Debbeler, Institute of Medical Technology
Christian Kaethner, Institute of Medical Technology

Excerpt from the application:
"At the student conference of the BioMedTec Science Campus, Master's students of technical-informatics courses at the University of Lübeck and the University of Applied Sciences Lübeck present their research results from projects, practical semesters or final theses in the form of a scientific conference. The papers submitted are based on work carried out at the Lübeck universities, in clinics, in international research institutions or in industrial companies. The didactic aim of the conference is to promote understanding of scientific working methods and the resulting findings by means of practical processes. A further aspect of communication is taken up by the conference language, which, as is usual at international conferences, is English."
Degree of recognitionRegional
Granting OrganisationsUniversity of Luebeck

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2017
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period15.11.2017

Universitätslehrpreis 2017: Verständigung

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Der Universitätslehrpreis 2017 geht an Dr. Christian Hoffmann
für das Konzept des Wahlfaches: »Ethik innovativer Technologien«, welches im Rahmen der Medizinischen Elektrotechnik angeboten wurde.


Die Veranstaltung »Ethik innovativer Technologien« war im Wintersemester 2016/2017 ein Seminar im Wahlpflichtbereich des neuen Studienganges »Robotik und Autonome Systeme«. In zukünftigen Durchgängen wird dieses Seminar allerdings allen Studiengängen im Rahmen des fächerübergreifenden Wahlpflichtkataloges zur Auswahl stehen und so den interdisziplinären Charakter auch durch die teilnehmenden Studierenden widerspiegeln.

Die neunköpfige Jury beurteilte das Konzept folgendermaßen:
Das Konzept ist insgesamt als didaktisch innovativ und konzeptionell überzeugend zu bewerten. Es folgt einer anspruchsvollen, methodisch vielseitigen Anlage und verknüpft vielfältige Maßnahmen der Wissensvermittlung, Aktivierung und Begleitung zu einem schlüssigen Lehr-Lernkonzept.

Den zweiten Platz belegte Prof. Nicole Jochems mit dem Konzept zum EMI-Award
(https://www.uni-luebeck.de/emi-award.html)


Auszug aus dem Antrag:

„Der EMI-Award ist ein innovatives Lehrkonzept, welches im Rahmen des neuen Bachelorstudiengangs Medieninformatik der Universität zu Lübeck (Start Wintersemester2014/2015) konzipiert und in den Folgesemestern fest im Studienplan bzw. Studiengangetabliert wurde. Der Award beschreibt sowohl eine Projektarbeit im Rahmen der Erstsemestervorlesung Einführung in die Medieninformatik (EMI, Modul CS1600), als auch ein semesterübergreifendes Veranstaltungskonzept. Dabei werden neben den Projektarbeiten der Erstsemester die Projektergebnisse der Veranstaltung Bachelor-Projekt UI- und Mediendesign (Modul CS3210) geprüft und vorgestellt und die beste Masterarbeit sowie zukünftig auch die beste Bachelorarbeit prämiert.

Die Projektarbeit im Rahmen des Awards bietet den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, die eigene Haltung zu gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen der Medieninformatik zu reflektieren, Fragen gemeinsam mit Kommilitonen zu durchdenken und die eigenen Fertigkeiten in einem kreativen Umfeld zu entfalten.“

Den dritten Platz belegte das Konzept der Studierendentagung des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus (www.studierendentagung.de).

Lehrenden-Team
Prof. Dr. Thorsten M. Buzug, Institut für Medizintechnik
Prof. Dr. Heinz Handels, Institut für Medizinische Informatik
Dr. Jan-Hinrich Wrage, Institut für Medizinische Informatik
Christina Debbeler, Institut für Medizintechnik
Christian Kaethner, Institut für Medizintechnik
Studierende
Masterstudiengang Medizinische Ingenieurwissenschaft, 3. Fachsemester
Masterstudiengang Medizinische Informatik, 3. Fachsemester
Masterstudiengang Biomedical Engineering, 3. Fachsemester
Auszug aus dem Antrag:

„Bei der Studierendentagung des BioMedTec Wissenschaftscampus präsentieren Masterstudierende technisch-informatorischer Studiengänge der Universität zu Lübeck und der Fachhochschule Lübeck ihre Forschungsergebnisse aus Projekten, Praxissemestern oder Abschlussarbeiten in Form einer wissenschaftlichen Tagung. Die eingereichten Arbeiten basieren dabei auf Arbeiten die an den Lübecker Hochschulen, in Kliniken, in internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen oder in Industrieunternehmen entstanden sind. Didaktisches Ziel der Tagung ist, anhand praxisnaher Prozesse die Verständigung einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsweise und der resultierenden Ergebnisse zu fördern. Ein weiterer Aspekt der Verständigung wird durch die Tagungssprache aufgegriffen, die, wie auf internationalen Konferenzen üblich, Englisch ist.“
BekanntheitsgradRegional
Förderer/MittelgeberUniversität zu Lübeck

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2017
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum15.11.2017