Research Award of the University of Luebeck 2017

  • Lei, Jian (Award Recipient)

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

The Research Award of the University of Luebeck 2017 goes to Dr. Jian Lei. He is awarded for his work "Crystal structure of Zika virus NS2B-NS3 protease in complex with a boronate inhibitor". The work was published in 2016 in the prestigious journal Science [Lei J., Hansen G., Nitsche C., Klein CD., Zhang L., Hilgenfeld R., 2016. Science 353, 503-505]. The laudatory speech will be given by Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rolf Hilgenfeld, Director of the Institute of Biochemistry.

Born in Xi'An, China in 1981, Dr. Lei studied molecular biology and biochemistry at Peking University, where he received a PhD in structural biology in 2009. Since the function of a protein is determined by its structure, Dr. Lei's scientific interest lies in detecting the three-dimensional structure of viral proteins in particular. Since 2009, Dr. Lei has been working in the group of the renowned structural virologist Prof. Hilgenfeld. During this time, Dr. Lei has been able to conduct groundbreaking research at the interface of biochemistry, structural biology, and pharmaceutical chemistry, and has elucidated many structures of important viral proteins. Competing with groups from Canada, China, the U.S., and Singapore, he achieved the first structural description of the papain-like protease of MERS coronavirus (2014) and the NS2B-NS3 protease of Zika virus (2016). The latter virus was first isolated in Uganda as early as 1947. Epidemics were reported in the Yap Islands in 2007 and on several islands in the South Pacific in 2013/14. A severe outbreak followed in 2015/16, beginning in South America, where infection with Zika virus has been linked to mircocephaly in newborns and Guillian-Barré syndrome in adults. It is transmitted primarily by Aedes mosquitoes, which also contribute to the spread of yellow fever virus, dengue virus, and chikungunya virus. It has also been documented that Zika virus can be transmitted through sexual contact with an infected person. In February 2016, the Zika virus outbreak was declared a "Public Health Emergency of International Concern" by the World Health Organization (WHO). Back in July 2016, Dr. Lei determined the three-dimensional structure of NS2B-NS3 protease, a key enzyme of the virus, in complex with a potent inhibitor. This work provides detailed insight into the processing of the viral polyprotein and lays the groundwork for structure-based drug development to treat Zika virus infections.

The university`s Research Award has been awarded since 2004 as "Heinrich-Dräger-Wissenschaftspreis", initiated by the Lübeck patron and recipient of the University Medal Lisa Dräger, for a high-ranking scientific publication from the university.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting Organisations

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2017
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period15.11.2017

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Infection and Inflammation Research (ZIEL)
  • Centers: Center for Structural and Cell Biology (CSCM/ZMSZ)

Wissenschaftspreis der Universität zu Lübeck 2017

  • Lei, Jian (Preisträger*in)

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Den Wissenschaftspreis der Universität zu Lübeck 2017 erhält Dr. Jian Lei. Er wird für seine Arbeit „Crystal structure of Zika virus NS2B-NS3 protease in complex with a boronate inhibitor“ ausgezeichnet. Die Arbeit wurde im vergangenen Jahr in der angesehenen Fachzeitschrift „Science“ veröffentlicht [Lei J., Hansen G., Nitsche C., Klein CD., Zhang L., Hilgenfeld R., 2016. Science 353, 503-505]. Die Laudatio hält Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rolf Hilgenfeld, Direktor des Instituts für Biochemie.

Dr. Lei, 1981 in Xi’An in China geboren, studierte Molekularbiologie und Biochemie an der Peking Universität und erwarb dort im Jahr 2009 den Doktortitel auf dem Gebiet der Strukturbiologie. Da die Funktion eines Proteins durch seine Struktur diktiert wird, liegt das wissenschaftliche Interesse von Dr. Lei in der Bestimmung der dreidimensionalen Struktur insbesondere von viralen Proteinen. Seit 2009 arbeitet Dr. Lei in der Gruppe des namhaften Strukturvirologen Prof. Hilgenfeld. In dieser Zeit konnte Dr. Lei wegweisende Forschung an der Schnittstelle zwischen Biochemie, Strukturbiologie und pharmazeutischer Chemie leisten und viele Strukturen wichtiger viraler Proteine aufklären. Im Wettstreit mit Gruppen aus Canada, China, den USA, und Singapur gelang ihm die erste strukturelle Beschreibung der Papain-artigen Protease des MERS-Coronavirus (2014) und der NS2B-NS3 Protease des Zikavirus (2016). Das letztgenannte Virus wurde bereits 1947 erstmalig in Uganda isoliert. Epidemien wurden 2007 auf den Yap-Inseln und 2013/14 auf verschiedenen Inseln im Südpazifik gemeldet. In den Jahren 2015/16 folgte ein schwerer Ausbruch, beginnend in Südamerika, bei dem die Infektion mit Zikaviren mit Mirkozephalie bei Neugeborenen und dem Guillian-Barré Syndrom bei Erwachsenen in Verbindung gebracht werden konnte. Es wird hauptsächlich durch Aedes Moskitos übertragen, die auch zur Verbreitung des Gelbfiebervirus, des Denguevirus und des Chikungunyavirus beitragen. Es wurde außerdem belegt, dass das Zikavirus durch sexuellen Kontakt mit einer infizierten Person übertragen werden kann. Im Februar 2016 wurde der Zikavirus-Ausbruch durch die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) als "Public Health Emergency of International Concern" deklariert. Bereits im Juli 2016 ermittelte Dr. Lei die dreidimensionale Struktur der NS2B-NS3 Protease, einem Schlüsselenzym des Virus, im Komplex mit einem potenten Inhibitor. Diese Arbeit ermöglicht einen detaillierten Einblick in die Prozessierung des viralen Polyproteins und schafft die Grundlagen für die strukturbasierte Entwicklung von Medikamenten zur Behandlung von Zikavirus-Infektionen.

Der Wissenschaftspreis der Universität ist mit 2.500 Euro dotiert und wird seit 2004, initiiert von der Lübecker Mäzenatin und Trägerin der Universitätsmedaille Lisa Dräger, für eine hochrangige wissenschaftliche Publikation aus der Universität verliehen.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/Mittelgeber

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2017
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum15.11.2017

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Infektion und Entzündung - Zentrum für Infektions- und Entzündungsforschung Lübeck (ZIEL)
  • Zentren: Zentrum für Medizinische Struktur- und Zellbiologie (ZMSZ)