Research Award of the University of Luebeck 2016

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Dr. Alvaro Mallagaray de Benito receives the university`s Research Award 2016 for his publication "Attachment of Norovirus to Histo Blood Group Antigens: A Cooperative Multistep Process." His work was published last year in the prestigious journal Angewandte Chemie [Mallagaray et al. (2015) Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 54, 12014-12019]. The laudatory speech was given by Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Norbert Tautz, Director of the Institute of Virology and Cell Biology at the University of Lübeck.

Born in 1978 in Vitoria, Spain, Dr. Mallagaray studied pharmacology and chemistry at the CEU San Pablo University in Madrid, where he earned a European doctorate in medicinal chemistry in 2012. In early 2013, Dr. Mallagaray joined the Institute of Chemistry at the University of Luebeck with a prestigious Marie Curie Fellowship.
He is dedicated to the question of how noroviruses recognize molecular structures on host cell surfaces. These structures are sugar structures, the so-called histoblood group antigens, which are responsible for the expression of blood groups. The aim of the work is to decipher the mechanism of molecular recognition.
It was known that noroviruses require specific building blocks in sugar structures for recognition. However, even though some structural details of the binding were known, the process of binding of the viral surface proteins to these sugar structures was unclear.

Using high-resolution nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR spectroscopy), Dr. Mallagaray was able to show that the binding process is gradual and that more than the previously assumed binding sites on the virus surface can come into contact with the sugar structures. He was further able to show that the recognition reaction is a so-called cooperative process. Even if the biological meaning of this complex binding behavior is not yet apparent, it can be assumed that it represents an advantage in the life cycle of the virus. In any case, the new findings now provide a basis on which novel antiviral therapeutics can be developed.

Currently, Dr. Mallagaray is focusing on deciphering the molecular mechanisms of sugar recognition in detail and developing new antiviral therapeutics as part of a ViroCarb research group funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG FOR2327; Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Thilo Stehle, Tuebingen; Deputy Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Thomas Peters, Luebeck).

The university`s Research Award has been awarded since 2004 as "Heinrich-Dräger-Wissenschaftspreis", initiated by the Lübeck patron and recipient of the University Medal Lisa Dräger, for a high-ranking scientific publication from the university.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsUniversity of Luebeck

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2016
LocationRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period10.11.2016

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Infection and Inflammation Research (ZIEL)
  • Centers: Center for Structural and Cell Biology (CSCM/ZMSZ)

Wissenschaftspreis der Universität zu Lübeck 2016

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Dr. Alvaro Mallagaray de Benito wurde für seine Arbeit „Attachment of Norovirus to Histo Blood Group Antigens: A Cooperative Multistep Process“ mit dem Universitätswissenschaftspreis ausgezeichnet. Die Arbeit wurde im vergangenen Jahr in der angesehenen Fachzeitschrift „Angewandte Chemie“ veröffentlicht [Mallagaray et al. (2015) Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 54, 12014-12019]. Die Laudatio hielt Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Norbert Tautz, Direktor des Instituts für Virologie und Zellbiologie der Universität zu Lübeck.

Dr. Mallagaray, 1978 in Vitoria in Spanien geboren, studierte Pharmazie und Chemie an der Universität CEU San Pablo in Madrid und erwarb dort 2012 den europäischen Doktortitel auf dem Gebiet der Medizinischen Chemie. Anfang 2013 kam Dr. Mallagaray mit einem renommierten Marie-Curie-Stipendium in das Institut für Chemie der Universität zu Lübeck.
Dort widmet er sich der Frage, wie Noroviren molekulare Strukturen auf Wirtszelloberflächen erkennen. Bei diesen Strukturen handelt es sich um Zuckerstrukturen, die sogenannten Histoblutgruppenantigene, die für die Ausprägung der Blutgruppen verantwortlich sind. Ziel der Arbeiten ist es, den Mechanismus der molekularen Erkennung zu entschlüsseln.
Es war bekannt, dass Noroviren bestimmte Bausteine in den Zuckerstrukturen zur Erkennung benötigen. Auch wenn einige strukturelle Details der Bindung bekannt waren, so war der Vorgang der Bindung der viralen Oberflächenproteine an diese Zuckerstrukturen jedoch weitestgehend im Dunkeln.

Dr. Mallagaray konnte mit Hilfe der hochauflösenden Kernresonanzspektroskopie (NMR-Spektroskopie) zeigen, dass der Bindungsvorgang schrittweise erfolgt und dass mehr als die bisher angenommenen Bindungsstellen auf der Virusoberfläche mit den Zuckerstrukturen in Kontakt treten können. Er konnte weiterhin zeigen, dass es sich bei der Erkennungsreaktion um einen sogenannten kooperativen Prozess handelt. Auch wenn der biologische Sinn dieses komplexen Bindungsverhaltens noch nicht ersichtlich ist, kann vermutet werden, dass es im Lebenszyklus des Virus einen Vorteil bedeutet. Auf jeden Fall bieten die neuen Erkenntnisse nun eine Basis, auf der neuartige antivirale Therapeutika entwickelt werden können.

Derzeit konzentriert sich Dr. Mallagaray im Rahmen einer durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft finanzierten Forschergruppe ViroCarb (FOR2327; Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Thilo Stehle, Tübingen; stellvertretender Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Thomas Peters, Lübeck) darauf, die molekularen Mechanismen der Zuckererkennung im Detail zu entschlüsseln und neue antivirale Therapeutika zu entwickeln.

Der Wissenschaftspreis wird seit 2004, initiiert von der Lübecker Mäzenatin und Trägerin der Universitätsmedaille Lisa Dräger, für eine hochrangige wissenschaftliche Publikation aus der Universität verliehen.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/MittelgeberUniversität zu Lübeck

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2016
OrtRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum10.11.2016

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Infektion und Entzündung - Zentrum für Infektions- und Entzündungsforschung Lübeck (ZIEL)
  • Zentren: Zentrum für Medizinische Struktur- und Zellbiologie (ZMSZ)