Renate Maaß Research Award 2016

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Dr. Christiane Koch receives the Renate-Maaß Research Award for her work on neuro-hormonal mechanisms of appetite regulation. The award was presented to her by Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Henrik Oster, Head of the Chronophysiology Research Group at Luebeck`s Medical Clinic I.
Christiane Koch, born 1982 in Kassel, studied biology with a major in animal physiology in Marburg and received her PhD with the thesis "Effect of leptin challenge on insulin sensitivity in C57Bl/6J mice on a high-fat diet". Since 2013, she has been conducting research at the University of Lübeck in the group of Prof. Oster. Dr. Koch focuses on the neuro-hormonal regulation of appetite and energy balance in mice. During her PhD, she primarily investigated the regulation of central metabo-regulatory pathways by peripheral hormones such as leptin, insulin and adiponectin, as well as the manipulation of associated pathways by plant compounds. In Lübeck, she conducts research on the regulation of appetite regulatory centers by circadian clocks in the context of homeostatic and hedonic - not hunger-driven - appetite regulation. To this end, she has developed a number of new paradigms for distinguishing between the two aspects of food intake during the course of the day. Her results on leptin resistance clearly show that the central inflammatory response is a key event in the sequelae of obesity, diabetes, and the metabolic syndrome. Appropriate therapies in the future should start there. Many of the aforementioned metabolic hormones show diurnal rhythmic changes in their secretion. In addition, they serve as potential timers for molecular clocks in central control circuits of appetite regulation.

Together with her colleagues in Lübeck, Ms. Koch was able to elucidate such a signaling pathway using the adipokine adiponectin and demonstrate its importance for the diurnal regulation of food intake. Energy balance and the circadian system are closely linked and influence each other. A better understanding of the systems involved offers entirely new approaches for the therapy of energy-metabolic diseases by stabilizing circadian rhythms and specifically manipulating appetite-regulatory clocks. In the work that now follows, Dr. Koch is analyzing the anatomical organization of circadian rhythms in homeostatic and hedonic aspects of appetite regulation via classical and viral-mediated genetic manipulations in the mouse as part of Collaborative Research Center 134 "Mechanisms of Appetite Regulation." In addition, she is investigating potential signaling pathways by which these processes may be regulated.

The research award of the Renate-Maaß-Foundation is dedicated to the appreciation of brain research at the University of Luebeck and its scientists. The University awards the award annually to one scientist up to the age of 35, with an endowment of 5.000 Euros.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsRenate-Maaß-Stiftung Lübeck

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2016
LocationRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period10.11.2016

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)

Renate-Maaß-Forschungspreis 2016

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Dr. rer. nat. Christiane Koch wurde für ihre Arbeiten zu neuro-hormonellen Mechanismen der Appetitregulation mit dem Renate-Maaß-Forschungspreis ausgezeichnet. Die Laudatio hielt Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Henrik Oster, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Chronophysiologie an der Medizinischen Klinik I in Lübeck.

Christiane Koch, 1982 in Kassel geboren, studierte Biologie mit dem Hauptfach Tierphysiologie in Marburg und promovierte mit der Arbeit “Effect of leptin challenge on insulin sensitivity in C57Bl/6J mice on a high-fat diet”. Seit 2013 forscht sie an der Universität zu Lübeck in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Oster. Dr. Koch beschäftigt sich mit der neuro-hormonellen Regulation von Appetit und Energiehaushalt in der Maus. Während ihrer Promotion untersuchte sie dabei primär die Regulation der zentralen metabo-regulatorischen Signalwege durch periphere Hormone wie Leptin, Insulin und Adiponectin sowie die Manipulation der assoziierten Signalwege durch Pflanzenstoffe. In Lübeck forscht sie an der Regulation appetitregulatorischer Zentren durch zirkadiane Uhren im Kontext der homöostatischen und hedonischen - nicht hungergetriebenen - Appetitregulation. Dazu hat sie eine Reihe von neuen Paradigmen zur Unterscheidung beider Aspekte der Nahrungsaufnahme im Tagesverlauf entwickelt. Ihre Ergebnisse zur Leptinresistenz zeigen deutlich, dass die zentrale Entzündungsreaktion ein Schlüsselereignis für die Folgeerkrankungen Adipositas, Diabetes und das metabolische Syndrom darstellt. Entsprechende Therapien sollten in Zukunft dort ansetzen. Viele der genannten metabolischen Hormone zeigen tagesrhythmische Veränderungen in ihrer Sekretion. Zudem dienen sie als potentielle Zeitgeber für molekulare Uhren in zentralen Regelkreisen der Appetiteregulation.
Zusammen mit ihren Kollegen in Lübeck konnte Frau Koch einen solchen Signalweg anhand des Adipokins Adiponectin aufklären und dessen Wichtigkeit für die Tagesregulation der Nahrungsaufnahme nachweisen. Energiehaushalt und zirkadianes System sind eng miteinander verknüpft und beeinflussen sich gegenseitig. Ein besseres Verständnis über die beteiligten Systeme bietet ganz neue Ansatzmöglichkeiten für die Therapie von energiemetabolischen Erkrankungen durch Stabilisierung der zirkadianen Rhythmik und gezielte Manipulation appetitregulatorischer Uhren. In den sich jetzt anschließenden Arbeiten analysiert Dr. Koch im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereiches 134 „Mechanisms of Appetite Regulation“ über klassische und viral vermittelte genetische Manipulationen in der Maus die anatomische Organisation zirkadianer Rhythmen in homöostatischen und hedonischen Aspekten der Appetitregulation. Zudem untersucht sie mögliche Signalwege, über die diese Prozesse reguliert werden können.

Die Förderungen der Renate-Maaß-Stiftung sind der Würdigung der Lübecker Hirnforschung und ihrer Wissenschaftler*innen gewidmet. Die Universität zu Lübeck zeichnet durch die Zustiftung jährlich eine/n Preisträger*in mit dem Renate-Maaß-Forschungspreis aus. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/MittelgeberRenate-Maaß-Stiftung Lübeck

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2016
OrtRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum10.11.2016

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gehirn, Hormone, Verhalten - Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)