Otto Roth Award 2016

  • Schregel, Katharina (Award Recipient)

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Dr. Katharina Schregel is awarded for her outstanding doctoral thesis on "Magnetic resonance elastography for objective quantification of cerebral biomechanics in a mouse model of multiple sclerosis".

Katharina Schregel, born in 1986 in Freudenberg (North Rhine-Westphalia), studied human medicine in Lübeck from 2006 to 2013. She completed her dissertation at the Institute of Neuroradiology in cooperation with the Laboratoire Ondes et Acoustique and the Laboratoire d'Imagerie Physiologique et Moléculaire de l'Abdomen, Paris. She is involved in innovative experimental imaging in the field of neuroimmunology. The recently developed method of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) offers approaches for the acquisition of biomechanical tissue parameters that were previously known only from intraoperative situations. Dr. Schregel conducted a technically complex and extensive study in mice that develop demyelination of the brain in an established multiple sclerosis model. Overall, the work addresses the question of which cellular or molecular structures influence cerebral biomechanics. Comparison of imaging parameters and histological evaluation provided confirmation of the hypothesis that the method MR elastography in animal models can provide parameters that can help in the diagnosis and progression of multiple sclerosis to reduce the discrepancy between clinical and radiological appearance of this disease. The method is still experimental, and its potential clinical relevance now needs to be explored and validated.
Dr. Schregel is currently continuing her research - financed by a one-year research grant from the German Research Foundation that she obtained herself - at Harvard Medical School in Boston. There, she is continuing the project begun with her dissertation with a study on the early detection of multiple sclerosis lesions using MR elastography.

The Otto Roth Award is the Medical Faculty`s annual award for an outstanding doctoral thesis donated by the Society of the University`s Alumni with an amount of 2.500 Euros.
It is named after Professor Otto Roth (1863-1944), the University`s first specialized surgeon. He became head of the Clinic of Surgery in Luebeck`s General Hospital (1897-1933) and collaborated with Heinrich Dräger (1847-1917) for the development of the world world-famous Dräger-Roth anaesthetic apparatus, allowing the thrive of modern anaesthesiology.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2016
LocationRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period10.11.2016

Otto-Roth-Preis 2016

  • Schregel, Katharina (Preisträger*in)

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Dr. med. Katharina Schregel wird für ihre Dissertationschrift „Magnetresonanz-Elastographie zur objektiven Quantifizierung der zerebralen Biomechanik in einem Maus-Modell der Multiplen Sklerose“ ausgezeichnet.

Katharina Schregel, 1986 in Freudenberg (Nordrhein-Westfalen) geboren, studierte 2006 bis 2013 Humanmedizin in Lübeck. Ihre Dissertation fertigte sie am Institut für Neuroradiologie in Kooperation mit dem Laboratoire Ondes et Acoustique und dem Laboratoire d’Imagerie Physiologique et Moléculaire de l’Abdomen, Paris, an. Sie befasst sich mit innovativer, experimenteller Bildgebung auf dem Gebiet der Neuroimmunologie. Die erst kürzlich entwickelte Methode der Magnetresonanz-Elastographie (MRE) bietet Ansätze zur Erfassung biomechanischer Gewebsparameter, die bislang nur aus intraoperativen Situationen bekannt waren. Dr. Schregel führte eine technisch aufwendige und umfangreiche Studie an Mäusen durch, die in einem etablierten Multiple-Sklerose-Modell Entmarkungen des Gehirns entwickeln. Insgesamt geht es in der Arbeit um die Frage, welche zellulären oder molekularen Strukturen Einfluss auf die zerebrale Biomechanik nehmen. Der Vergleich von bildgebenden Parametern und histologischer Auswertung ergab eine Bestätigung der Hypothese, dass die Methode MR-Elastographie im Tiermodell Parameter liefern kann, die in der Diagnostik und Verlaufsbeurteilung der Multiplen Sklerose helfen können, die Diskrepanz zwischen klinischem und radiologischem Erscheinungsbild dieser Erkrankung zu verringern. Die Methode ist noch experimentell, ihre mögliche klinische Relevanz muss jetzt erforscht und validiert werden.
Dr. Schregel forscht derzeit weiter - finanziert durch ein selbst eingeworbenes einjähriges Forschungsstipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft - an der Harvard Medical School in Boston. Sie setzt dort das mit der Dissertation begonnene Projekt mit einer Studie zur Früherkennung von Multiple Sklerose-Läsionen mittels MR-Elastographie fort.

Der Otto-Roth-Preis ist der Promotionspreis der Sektion Medizin der Universität zu Lübeck. Er wird seit 1979 vom Verein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V. für eine wissenschaftlich herausragende Doktorarbeit vergeben. Prof. Otto Roth (1863-1944) war der erste Fachchirurg in Lübeck. Von 1897 bis 1933 leitete er die Chirurgische Abteilung im Allgemeinen Krankenhaus der Hansestadt. Gemeinsam mit Heinrich Dräger (1847-1917) entwickelte er den weltbekannten Dräger-Roth-Narkoseapparat, der am Beginn der modernen Narkosetechnik steht.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/MittelgeberVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2016
OrtRathaus der Hansestatdt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum10.11.2016