Heinrich Draeger Research Award 2014

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

Dr. Christian Karsten receives the Heinrich Draeger Research Award 2014, endowed with 2,500 euros, for his publication "Anti-inflammatory activity of IgG1 mediated by Fc galactosylation and association of FcγRIIB and Dectin-1", which appeared in Nature Medicine (2012 Sep;18(9):1401-6).
In this work, Dr. Karsten was able to describe a previously unknown mechanism by which antibodies are able to inhibit complement-mediated immune responses. Interestingly, this effect is strongly dependent on the particular structure of the antibody. Only those antibodies that have certain sugar structures have an inhibitory effect. If these structures are missing, the anti-inflammatory effect is no longer observed. The effects observed by Dr. Karsten provide important insights into the role of antibodies in the control of complement-mediated inflammatory reactions and autoimmune diseases.

Dr. Karsten, born in Hamburg in 1976, studied biology at the University of Hamburg from 1996 to 2004. He received his PhD in 2009 with a thesis on immunological tolerance mechanisms during pregnancy at the University of Lübeck. Since then, Dr. Karsten has been working at the Institute for Systemic Inflammation Research in the research group of Prof. Dr. med. Jörg Köhl, who also gave the laudatory speech.

The Heinrich Dräger Science Award was established in 2004 by the Dräger family and Drägerwerk AG on the initiative of Mrs. Lisa Dräger.
Once a year, the University of Luebeck awards its Research Award in recognition of a particularly outstanding scientific publication whose work results were primarily generated at the university. The prize is awarded alternately to scientists from the STEM and Medicine sections. Doctoral researchers whose doctorate was awarded no longer than five years ago are eligible to apply.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting Organisations

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2014
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period05.11.2014

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Infection and Inflammation Research (ZIEL)

Heinrich-Dräger-Wissenschaftspreis 2014

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Dr. rer. nat. Christian Karsten erhält den mit 2.500 Euro dotierten Heinrich-Dräger-Wissenschaftspreis 2014. Er wird damit für seine Fachveröffentlichung „Anti-inflammatory activity of IgG1 mediated by Fc galactosylation and association of FcγRIIB and Dectin-1“ ausgezeichnet, die in Nature Medicine (2012 Sep;18(9):1401-6) erschien.
In dieser Arbeit konnte Dr. Karsten einen bisher noch unbekannten Mechanismus beschreiben, über den Antikörper in der Lage sind, Komplement-vermittelte Immunreaktionen zu hemmen. Interessanterweise ist dieser Effekt stark von der jeweiligen Struktur des Antikörpers abhängig. So wirken lediglich diejenigen Antikörper hemmend, welche bestimmte Zuckerstrukturen aufweisen. Fehlen diese Strukturen, ist der entzündungshemmende Effekt nicht mehr zu beobachten. Die von Dr. Karsten beobachteten Effekte liefern wichtige Erkenntnisse zur Rolle von Antikörpern bei der Kontrolle von Komplement-vermittelten Entzündungsreaktionen und Autoimmunerkrankungen.

Dr. Karsten, 1976 in Hamburg geboren, studierte von 1996 bis 2004 Biologie an der Universität Hamburg. Er promovierte 2009 mit einer Arbeit über immunologische Toleranzmechanismen während der Schwangerschaft an der Universität zu Lübeck. Seitdem ist Dr. Karsten am Institut für Systemische Entzündungsforschung in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. med. Jörg Köhl tätig, der auch die Laudatio hielt.

Der Heinrich-Dräger-Wissenschaftspreis wurde 2004 von der Familie Dräger und der Drägerwerk AG auf Initiative von Frau Lisa Dräger ins Leben gerufen.
Mit dem Wissenschaftspreis würdigt die Universität zu Lübeck einmal im Jahr eine besonders herausragende wissenschaftliche Publikation, deren Arbeitsergebnisse vorwiegenden an der Universität zu Lübeck generiert wurden. Der Preis wird alternierend an Preisträger*innen aus den Sektionen MINT und Medizin verliehen. Zur Bewerbung zuglassen sind promovierte Forschende, deren Promotion nicht länger als fünf Jahre zurückliegt.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/Mittelgeber

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2014
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum05.11.2014

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Infektion und Entzündung - Zentrum für Infektions- und Entzündungsforschung Lübeck (ZIEL)