Bernd Fischer Award 2019

  • Harder, Lisbeth (Award Recipient)

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

The Bernd Fischer Award 2019 for an outstanding PhD in the Departments of Computer Science or Natural Sciences is awarded to Dr. rer. nat. Lisbeth Harder for her PhD thesis on "Layered Interactions of Systemic and Brain Effects by Thyroid Hormones” at the Institute of Endocrinology and Diabetes.

In her work, Dr. rer. nat. Lisbeth Harder investigates the influence of thyroid hormone and its metabolites on peripheral processes in the body as well as the significance of thyroid hormones for brain development. The work was divided into three projects that were independently published in journals and discussed at national and international congresses. For a transient strong increase of thyroid hormones, it was shown in the mouse model that the occurring hyperthermia is most likely not caused by the interscapular brown adipose tissue. In addition, hypertrophy and tachycardia in the heart and a surprising bradycardia after a two-week recovery period were demonstrated. For routine clinical practice, these results underscore the importance of close monitoring of thyrotoxic patients to prevent cardiac events. Another focus was on development of parvalbumin-positive neurons in the anterior hypothalamus and their thyroid hormone dependence.

Using different mouse models, it was shown that thyroid hormones are essential for the development of this neuronal population from entry into their postmitotic developmental phase until birth. Considering the role of parvalbumin-positive neurons in the anterior hypothalamus in the central control of the cardiovascular system, the data highlight a link between maternal thyroid hormone deficiency and hypertension in the offspring. In addition, parvalbumin-positive neurons in the anterior hypothalamus identified for the first time a specific neuroanatomical target of maternal hypothyroidism.

For her work on parvalbumin-positive neurons, Dr. Harder was awarded the "Von Basedow Award"of the German Society for Endocrinology in 2018.
Lisbeth Harder, born in Ingolstadt in 1989, studied Molecular Life Science in the Bachelor and Master program at the University of Luebeck between 2009 and 2014, this also included internships at the Friedman Brain Institute at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City and the MRC at the University of Glasgow. She worked on her dissertation from 2015 to 2018 in the Molecular Endocrinology group with Prof. Dr. Jens Mittag. Subsequently, she was a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Neurobiology of Prof. Henrik Oster. Following the 2019 award ceremony, she will take up a postdoctoral position at Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm in the field of neurodegenerative diseases.

The Bernd Fischer Award has been awarded since 2016 and commemorates the mathematician Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer (1957 - 2013). As the Head of the Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing and Luebeck`s Fraunhofer Project Group on Image Registration (MEVIS) Professor Fischer played a major role in establishing the field of computer science at the university. He was extremely committed and popular among his colleagues and his students for his excellent teaching, his extraordinary research and his work on behalf of the university.
The award is endowed with 2,500 euros and is awarded annually by the Association of Alumni and Friends of the University of Luebeck.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2019
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period07.11.2019

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)

Bernd-Fischer-Preis 2019

  • Harder, Lisbeth (Preisträger*in)

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Den Bernd-Fischer-Preis 2019 für eine herausragende Promotion in den Sektionen Informatik/Technik oder Naturwissenschaften erhält Dr. rer. nat. Lisbeth Harder für ihre Promotion zum Thema „Layered Interactions of Systemic and Brain Effects by Thyroid Hormones“ am Institut für Endokrinologie und Diabetes bei Prof. Dr. Jens Mittag.

Dr. rer. nat. Lisbeth Harder untersucht in ihrer Arbeit den Einfluss von Schilddrüsenhormon und seinen Metaboliten auf periphere Prozesse im Körper genauso wie die Bedeutung von Schilddrüsenhormonen für die Gehirnentwicklung. Die Arbeit teilte sich in drei Projekte auf, die eigenständig in Fachjournalen veröffentlicht und auf nationalen und internationalen Kongressen diskutiert wurden. Für eine vorübergehende starke Erhöhung von Schilddrüsenhormonen wurde im Mausmodell gezeigt, dass die auftretende Hyperthermie sehr wahrscheinlich nicht durch das interskapuläre braune Fettgewebe hervorgerufen wird. Außerdem konnte Hypertrophie und Tachykardie im Herzen und eine überraschende Bradykardie nach einer zweiwöchigen Erholungsphase nachgewiesen werden. Für die klinische Routine unter-streichen diese Ergebnisse die Bedeutung einer engen Überwachung von thyreotoxischen Patienten zur Vermeidung kardialer Vorfälle. Ein weiterer Fokus lag auf der Entwicklung von Parvalbumin-positive Neurone im vorderen Hypothalamus und ihrer Schilddrüsenhormonabhängigkeit.

Mittels verschiedener Mausmodelle wurde gezeigt, dass Schilddrüsenhormone ab dem Eintritt in ihre postmitotische Entwicklungsphase bis zur Geburt essentiell für die Entwicklung dieser neuronalen Population sind. Unter Berücksichtigung der Rolle von Parvalbumin-positiven Neuronen im vorderen Hypothalamus für die zentrale Kontrolle des Herz-Kreislaufsystems, unterstreichen die Daten einen Zusammenhang zwischen mütterlicher Schilddrüsenhormondefizienz und Hypertonie in den Nachkommen. Außerdem wurde mit den Parvalbumin-positiven Neuronen im vorderen Hypothalamus zum ersten Mal ein konkretes neuroanatomisches Ziel der mütterlichen Hypothyreose identifiziert.

Für die Arbeit an Parvalbumin-positiven Neuronen wurde Frau Dr. Harder 2018 mit dem Von-Basedow-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Endokrinologie ausgezeichnet. - Lisbeth Harder, 1989 in Ingolstadt geboren, studierte zwischen 2009 und 2014 Molecular Life Science im Bachelor und Master Programm der Universität zu Lübeck, dies beinhaltet auch Praktika am Friedman Brain Institute des Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City und am MRC der University of Glasgow. An ihrer Dissertation arbeitete sie von 2015 bis 2018 in der Arbeitsgruppe Molekulare Endokrinologie bei Prof. Dr. Jens Mittag. Im Anschluss war sie im Institut für Neurobiologie von Prof. Henrik Oster als Postdoc tätig. Im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung 2019 tritt sie eine Postdoc-Stelle am Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm im Bereich neurodegenerative Erkrankungen an.

Der Bernd-Fischer-Preis wird seit 2016 verliehen und erinnert an den Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer (1957 – 2013). Er hat den Bereich Informatik an der Universität maßgeblich mit aufgebaut und leitete, als Hochschullehrer überaus engagiert und beliebt, das Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing der Universität und die Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe Image Registration (MEVIS). Der Preis ist mit 2.500 Euro dotiert und wird jährlich vom Verein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V. vergeben.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/MittelgeberVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2019
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum07.11.2019

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Gehirn, Hormone, Verhalten - Center for Brain, Behavior and Metabolism (CBBM)