Bernd Fischer Award 2015

  • Hillmann, Dierck (Award Recipient)

Prize: Awards of the University of Luebeck

General Description

The Bernd Fischer Award 2015 for an outstanding PhD thesis in the Departments of Computer Science or Natural Sciences is awarded to Dr. rer. nat. Dierck Hillmann for his dissertation on "Holoscopy” at the Institute of Biomedical Optics, supervised by Prof. Dr. Alfred Vogel.

The project`s aim was to combine the imaging techniques of optical coherence tomography (OCT) and digital holography in order to exploit the advantages of both techniques. The Luebeck researchers have named the result "holoscopy". Similar to OCT, this involves sending light of different wavelengths into tissue. The images of the backscattered light are used to calculate exactly where the scattering occurs. This provides a 3D volume of the interior of the objects being examined. With the results from the work, lenses and other optical components can be dispensed with. They are replaced, as in digital holography, by calculations in the computer. This bypasses limitations of the lenses used, for example, and yields sharper volumes that are focused everywhere, as well as overall more efficient and faster imaging.
The work was and is being continued, including in a project with federal funding from BMBF. Currently, the researchers can record volumes of the retina at record speed using similar technology and a fast camera and, for example, correct disturbing image defects of the eye (defective vision) during the measurements.

Dr. Dierck Hillmann, born in Hoya/Weser in 1983, studied physics from 2002 - 2007, first for two semesters in distance learning at the University of Kaiserslautern and then in attendance studies at the University of Bonn, graduating with a degree in physics. Since 2008 he has been in Luebeck at Thorlabs GmbH, 2010 - 2012 he completed his doctoral thesis at the Institute for Biomedical Optics (Director: Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred Vogel) and in cooperation with the university`s Medical Laser Center and Thorlabs. Supervisor was Priv.-Doz. Dr. rer. nat. Gereon Hüttmann, who also held the laudatory speech.

The University Award for STEM dissertations has been presented since 2007 and was renamed as Bernd Fischer Award in 2016 to commemorate the mathematician Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer (1957-2013). As the Head of the Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing and the Fraunhofer Project Group on Image Registration (MEVIS) Professor Fischer played a major role in establishing the field of computer science at the University of Luebeck and, as a scientist as well as a lecturer, he was extremely committed and popular for his achievements, his excellent teaching and his work on behalf of the university.
Degree of recognitionLocal
Granting OrganisationsVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Awarded at event

Event titleUniversity Awards 2015
LocationRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, GermanyShow on map
Period04.11.2015

Research Area or Academic Center

  • Academic Focus: Biomedical Engineering

Bernd-Fischer-Preis 2015 (Staatlicher Universitätspreis 2015)

  • Hillmann, Dierck (Preisträger*in)

Auszeichnung: Preise der Universität zu Lübeck

Allg. Beschreibung

Den Bernd-Fischer-Preis 2015 für eine herausragende Promotion in den Sektionen Informatik/Technik oder Naturwissenschaften erhält Dr. rer. nat. Dierck Hillmann für seine Promotion zum Thema „Holographie (Holoscopy)“ am Institut für Biomedizinische Optik bei PD Dr. Gereon Hüttmann.

Darin ging es darum, die Bildgebungstechniken „Optischen Kohärenztomographie“ (Optical Coherence Tomography, OCT) und „Digitale Holographie“ zu verbinden, um die Vorteile beider Techniken zu nutzen. Das Resultat haben die Lübecker Forscher „Holoskopie“ genannt. Ähnlich wie bei der OCT sendet man dabei Licht verschiedener Wellenlängen in Gewebe. Aus den Bildern des rückgestreuten Lichtes wird berechnet, wo die Streuung genau erfolgt. Damit erhält man ein 3D-Volumen vom Inneren der untersuchten Objekte. Mit den Resultaten aus der Arbeit kann auf Linsen und andere optische Bauteile verzichtet werden. Sie werden, wie in der Digitalen Holographie, durch Berechnungen im Computer ersetzt. Dabei umgeht man z. B. Limitierungen der verwendeten Linsen und erhält schärfere, überall fokussierte Volumen sowie eine insgesamt effizientere und schnellere Bildgebung.
Die Arbeiten wurden und werden weitergeführt, u.a. in einem BMBF-Projekt. Aktuell können die Forscher mit ähnlicher Technik und einer schnellen Kamera Volumen der Retina in Rekordgeschwindigkeit aufnehmen und z. B. bei den Messungen störende Bildfehler des Auges (Fehlsichtigkeit) korrigieren.

Dr. Dierck Hillmann, 1983 in Hoya/Weser geboren, studierte 2002 – 2007 Physik zunächst zwei Semester im Fernstudium an der Universität Kaiserslautern und dann im Präsenzstudium an der Universität Bonn mit dem Abschluss als Diplom-Physiker. Seit 2008 ist er in Lübeck bei der Thorlabs GmbH, 2010 – 2012 fertigte er am Institut für Biomedizinische Optik der Universität zu Lübeck (Direktor: Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred Vogel) und in Kooperation mit dem Medizinischen Laserzentrum Lübeck und Thorlabs seine Doktorarbeit an. Betreuer war Priv.-Doz. Dr. rer. nat. Gereon Hüttmann, der auch die Laudatio hielt.

Der Staatliche Universitätspreis wird seit 2007 vergeben und heißt seit 2016 Bernd-Fischer-Preis, um an den Lübecker Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Bernd Fischer zu erinnern (1957 – 2013). Er hat den Bereich Informatik an der Universität maßgeblich mit aufgebaut und leitete, als Hochschullehrer überaus engagiert und beliebt, das Institute of Mathematics and Image Computing und die Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe Image Registration (MEVIS).
Der Preis ist mit 2.500 Euro dotiert und wird jährlich vom Verein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V. vergeben.
BekanntheitsgradLokal
Förderer/MittelgeberVerein der Alumni, Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Lübeck e. V.

Verliehen bei Veranstaltung

EreignistitelVerleihung der Universitätspreise 2015
OrtRathaus der Hansestadt Lübeck, Lübeck, DeutschlandAuf Karte anzeigen
Zeitraum04.11.2015

Strategische Forschungsbereiche und Zentren

  • Forschungsschwerpunkt: Biomedizintechnik